Bottle Flipping in Grade 6

I know I know more bottle flipping! But you know what? The kids love it and it has so much math.

I first got the idea from Jon Or who I think got the idea from Dan Meyer but their lessons were geared for High School students. This got me thinking what can I do for my 6’s. So this is what I decided to do:

After getting over the annoying factor of bottle flipping this was one of the best lessons that I have ever done. There was so much math and learning it wasn’t even funny. I know we all try to find these rich tasks but this was one that turned out great.

Take a look at the amazing week:

<br data-mce-bogus=”1″><br data-mce-bogus=”1″><br data-mce-bogus=”1″><br data-mce-bogus=”1″><br data-mce-bogus=”1″>[<a href=”//storify.com/MrSoclassroom/october-24th-to-the-28th” target=”_blank”>View the story “October 24th to the 28th” on Storify</a>]

If you do this lesson would love to see your results or any other variation of it.

Author: MrSoClassroom

I am a grade school Teacher, promoting creativity and exploration in all of my students. My classroom is always in a state of Inquiry.

Leave a Reply

