Just want to say Thank you

 

Thank You

As many of you know school has not been the easiest thing for my daughter. She did once love the idea but since she started JK she has had a lot of social problems and developmental delays in this area. We have learned so much with her and to be honest having my child in school has made me a better teacher. However, this year has been different and I just wanted to share my thank you note with everyone.

Dear Izzy’s Teachers,

I want to first tell you that you have made a huge difference. From one educator to another, you are amazing. I hope you realize how much of a difference that you have made in Izzy’s life and our own. You didn’t look at her as a problem or as a label, you saw her. You saw the funny, caring and spontaneous kid that she is. You saw the smile, the laughter, and her capabilities. You saw all this even when she couldn’t. You brought the love of school back into the heart of a child. You made a difference.

I know that it wasn’t the easiest year. As her parents, we know that she struggles with learning and expressing herself in positive ways. We know that she can be stubborn, willful and hard to deal with. We know that she is not a perfect child but we also know that she is amazing individual and you saw that too.

I don’t think words can express what you have done for Izzy and us but I wanted you to know. Izzy comes home and wants to talk about school, she wants to go to school in the morning and she wants to stay when I pick her up. She comes home ready to write and read anything that you have given her and we have started to see that spark that she had in preschool. You have made that difference for her.

You have dedicated your time to help her learn, to cope with her anxieties and learn how to handle social situations. You have taught her that she is special, that she matters. And we are very grateful for your time and effort this year.

Your passion, your dedication and your love of children shine in every interaction you have with Izzy and ourselves. You are an amazing teacher.

From the bottom of our hearts,

Jennifer and Jonathan

I share this note because being a parent has taught me a lot about being a teacher. I hope that all teachers look at each student and see who they truly are. I know it is very tough sometimes. I know that especially at the end of the year they can get on our nerves and I also know that many of us are ready for the end of June. But all I can keep thinking about is my daughter. She is and can be very trying at times but there is a reason; there always is a reason. We have to see the why’s behind our children’s behaviours can problems. All kids want and will behave if they knew how. All kids want to be good. We have been very fortunate this year to have four amazing educators in Izzy’s life and I know we all are educators because we love kids, just keep thinking about that.

Author: MrSoClassroom

I am a grade school Teacher, promoting creativity and exploration in all of my students. My classroom is always in a state of Inquiry.

2 thoughts on “Just want to say Thank you”

  1. So beautifully written Jonathan … Your Izzy sounds a lot like my Quincy…. She unfortunately did not have teachers like the ones you praise in the post above. Being a parent has also taught me so much about being a teacher. It is a difficult system to navigate with a special kid… Quincy is in Grade 11 and we are still advocating and up against challenges but continue to persevere…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Max it has been a wild ride. But the more we learn about her the better we know how to advocate. I know I have lucked out with these teachers but I am secretly hoping there will still be many more. Thanks for your comments. I cannot believe that she is in 11 now. Wow how time flies.

      Like

Leave a Reply

